Inter-Parliamentary Task Force on Online Antisemitism to Host First Briefing

November 10, 2020

Media Advisory

(Washington/Ottawa/Canberra/London/Jerusalem) On Tuesday, November 10, the Inter-Parliamentary Task Force to Combat Online Antisemitism will host its first virtual briefing with community organizations from the United States, Canada, and Australia. The briefing will cover the state of online antisemitism, how community groups are responding, and provide their recommendations for what actions legislators should take to address the issue.  

The event will include presentations from the American Jewish Committee, the Simon Wiesenthal Center, the Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs (CIJA), B'nai Brith Canada, Canadian Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center (FSWC), Executive Council of Australian Jewry, Community Security Group and Online Hate Prevention Institute.

Director of Policy Jaime-Kirzner Roberts will be presenting and offering recommendations to the Task Force on behalf of FSWC, with FSWC's President and CEO Michael Levitt participating as a member of the Task Force.

This virtual briefing will be held on Tuesday, November 10 at 5:00 pm EST via Zoom and live streamed on Facebook. The event is open to the press and the public. Click here to RSVP.

Launched in September 2020, the task force is focused on increasing awareness of and developing responses to growing online antisemitism. It is comprised of legislators and parliamentarians from the United States, Canada, Australia, Israel, and the United Kingdom.

Members of the Task Force include: Congressman Ted Deutch (Democrat, United States), Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Democrat, United States), Congressman Chris Smith (Republican, United States), Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart (Republican, United States), Member of Parliament Anthony Housefather (Liberal, Canada), Member of Parliament Marty Morantz (Conservative, Canada), Member of Parliament Randall Garrison (NDP, Canada), Member of Parliament Josh Burns (Labour, Australia), Member of Parliament Dave Sharma(Liberal, Australia), Member of Knesset Michal Cotler-Wunsh (Blue and White, Israel), Member of Parliament Andrew Percy (Conservative, United Kingdom), Member of Parliament Alex Sobel (Labour and Cooperative, United Kingdom) and former Canadian Member of Parliament Michael Levitt.

< Back to News Room